Tax Statements & Receipts
Tax statements are mailed by July 1st of each year. If you do not receive your statement by July 1st, you should contact the tax collector’s office. If you do not receive a tax statement, this DOES NOT EXCUSE YOU from taxes or penalties (ACA.26-35-706). To print an online tax statement or receipt please go to the Arkansas State Tax Search website. If you require a receipt for a payment mailed in, you must send in a self-addressed stamped envelope.
PLEASE EXAMINE YOUR TAX STATEMENT AND RECEIPTS. If you buy, sell or make any deed change, please let us know so we may make the proper adjustments to your account. IF A PARCEL IS MISSED THIS DOES NOT EXCUSE YOU FROM PENALTIES; only you know what you own.
Disabled Veteran Exemption
A Veteran or surviving spouse of a veteran that has/had been declared 100% disabled (service connected, total and permanent) may qualify for the disabled veteran tax exemption. A summary of benefit letter must be brought in yearly by October 15 to continue receiving this exemption.
Amendment 79 and Act 142 provides that homeowners may be able to receive up to a $350 tax credit on the property that is their principal residence. Also homeowners who are over 65 years of age or 100% disabled may receive a freeze on their assessed value. Mobile home owners are also eligible. Contact the Garland County Assessor at 501-622-3730 for further information.
You must change your address in the Tax Collector’s office at 501-622-3710 and in the Assessor’s office at 501-622-3730.
We do not accept checks on delinquent personal property taxes. Credit cards will not be accepted on any delinquent tax from October 16th until the middle of November. Paying on time will save you money and inconvenience.
Mixed Drink Fees
County Ordinance Number 0-12-63 requires the tax collector to collect a monthly and yearly fee from establishments that are within Garland County on mixed drink sales. The monthly fee is due by the 20th of each month for sales from the prior month. They yearly fee is due by July 1st of each year.
Mortgage companies and/or escrow holders have sixty (60) days from receipt of tax bills to pay taxes without penalty.
Property That is Certified to State
When county real estate tax go two (2) years delinquent they are subject to be certified to the Arkansas State Land commissioner for collection. After four (4) years the property is subject to be sold at auction for tax purposes.
To inquire about or redeem state certified real estate contact:
Arkansas Commissioner of State lands
500 Woodlane Street
Little Rock AR 72201
Special improvement districts are billed and collected by our office for current year. The billed amounts are determined by the assessor of that district and all monies are dispersed back to the improvement district.